Skip to content

I Quit Sugar Program

January 30, 2014

I have decided to take part in  Sarah Wilson’s I Quit Sugar Program.  This program runs for 8 weeks, and hopefully by the end, my sugar intake will be down to almost zero.  Actually, by the end of the 8 weeks, I’m hoping to be feeling so great that I will be happy to make this a life long choice.

The reason I have decided to give this a go, is that I’ve been having some stomach trouble for quite some time now which don’t seem to want to go away. In the late 1990s, I had bariatric stapling to my stomach, and  the surgeon told me that my stomach will have trouble processing sugar. It didn’t bother me at all at the time, as I was then having almost no sugar at all. Now, I seem to have fallen back into some old habits and am eating far too much sugar. I have a feeling that this is the cause of the issues I’m having now. I have an appointment to see a surgeon in April, but am hoping by then that quitting sugar will greatly improve things.

I tried to follow this program, from Sarah’s book last year with not much success. Looking at what went wrong, I can see that I made so many changes to the program, that it was really my program and not Sarah’s that I was doing. I’m sure the official program is based in much more science and fact than I could come up with. So this time I’ve decided to experiment. I will do the I Quit Sugar Program, as it is presented to me with no changes and see how it turns out. This new online version of I Quit Sugar has menu plans, shopping lists, and regular emails with information and advice. There are also forums for support which I’m sure will be helpful.

Before the end of the week, I need to get the pantry cleaned up, and the sugar gone, so that I’m all set to go on Saturday.

From → Sugar Free

2 Comments
  1. Jen, you CAN do it! We didn’t each much sugar either, but have totally cut it out and I don’t miss it. It’s addictive, so having none is a bonus. And watch out for ‘low-fat’ food, that is full of sugar. I’d say read labels, but better still, don’t eat packaged foods. I’ve also given up wheat and feel heaps better. Low Carb, High Fat is the way to go – yes, healthy fats are good for you and don’t make you fat. We’ve been misled all these years. Look forward to seeing how you go with it :)

  2. Great advice Pam. I did this program last year, but didn’t cut out low fat products. Just couldn’t bring myself to eat high fat after so many years of avoiding it. I didn’t do very well with it, so decided to do as I’m told this year and follow the program.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 659 other followers