Skip to content

BHAG GOAL

October 6, 2012

The past few days, I’ve been thinking about goals. Mainly goals for training to walk the Camino de Santiago Pilgrimmage Trail across Spain that I’m planning on doing in 2014. Usually I like to set a BHAG goal about every three months.
BHAG stands for Big Hairy Audacious Goal. A BHAG goal is a goal bigger than any other goal set in the past, and bigger than any goal that you could imagine yourself doing. I first heard this term from Michelle Bridges a couple of years ago, when doing  her  12 Week Body Transformation program.  Immediately I loved this saying and it struck a cord with me, as it describes exactly the hugeness,  of a big  goal that gets me excited.
Most of my focus at the moment is with the Camino, so I’ve been trying to think of a BHAG in relation to it. I’m still cycling and gyming but the Camino training really has me excited. I’m making sure I walk everyday for as long as time permits and longer on the weekends. At the moment, I’m just concentrating on getting a base of ks into the legs and then will add in hills and longer walks later this year.
I have  the Seven Bridges Walk which is 27ks, planned in Sydney at the end of October.  This is the first big walk, over 20ks for this year. And will schedule in a 30k walk before Christmas and will walk  50ks over the Christmas holiday break.
I have decided that my BHAG is to walk 100ks from Flinders Street Station in Melbourne to Sorrento.

This will be either late March or early April. Already, friends have offered to either form a team and walk the whole distance with me or walk bits near where they live. It looks like I definitely won’t be walking the whole distance by myself.
I’ve been fixated on walking 100ks since my 50k walk in 2011. Also I would love to have been able to do Oxfam with my friends last year, and was disappointed not to be able to join in.  Oxfam is a distance of 100ks over very hilly and uneven bush tracks which unfortunately my wrecked knees can’t handle.
So Melbourne to Sorrento is my Oxfam.

From → Challenge

One Comment

Leave a Reply

