Skip to content

100k Walk Melbourne to Sorrento

November 10, 2012

The 100k Walk from Melbourne to Sorrento that has been in my mind for a while now, is definitely on.  The date has now been set at 13 April 2013. My new friend Nadine is walking the full distance with me. So far we haven’t had any other takers, but plenty of time yet.

Many of my 12WBT   friends have promised to walk shorter distances with us, mostly as we pass through their neighbourhoods.  I love that my friends are showing me this support and it will be a lovely thing to share the day with them in this way. We are walking the full distance through the night, without stopping for sleep. We anticipate that the walk should take us about 25 hours. We will be leaving Melbourne at 8am, so hopefully will be in Sorrento by 5am the next day.

Between now and then, there is a huge amount of training to be done, but we have already begun serious training so feel confident that we will complete the walk.

This walk is part of our training to walk the Camino de Santiago de Compostela Pilgrimage trail across Spain which we will be walking in 2014.

From → Fitness

4 Comments
  1. Pam Longe permalink

    All the best girls. 25 hours is a fast pace, but I don’t doubt you can do it. All the best for the training!

  2. Was just thinking fast. Not sure ill be able to keep up with you speed demons. Maybe I’ll ride with you x

    • Not sure if we’ll keep the speed up Kris. Probably early will be ok. Doesn’t matter as long as we get there

  3. I’m sure we’ll do it Pam. Time doesn’t really matter. I’m sure we’re going to have a lot of fun along the way with the training

Leave a Reply

