Skip to content

Challenges

January 9, 2013

I’ve always been a sucker for a challenge, and have been known to jump in and say yes, when asked, often before even knowing what the challenge is.

Anyone who knows me knows I am a very keen participant and supporter of Michelle Bridges 12 Week Body Transformation.

While participating in this program I have made many friends in all states of Australia. Over the years we have joined together and completed many challenges.  We are able to keep in contact through forums on the website and also many groups have been created on Facebook.  The members on the 12wbt Fifty and Fabulous Facebook group are an amazing bunch of super-energised ladies. They may be over 50 but they would leave many of younger years for dead. I find they are group that inspire me to JFDI (Just *** Do It) and not make excuses for any reason, particularly age based.

There are three challenges I have joined so far in 2013.  There is the  January Tricep Challenge  and the Tough Butt  January Challenge

The Tricep challenge involves doing Tricep pushups every day starting with 1 January 1, 2 on January 2  etc for the month of January.

The Butt Challenge involves  Squats, Burpees and Wall Sit. Day 1 starts with 10 Squats/30 secs Burpees/15 Sec Wall Sit.  The last day on January 31 is 100 Squats/2 mins Burpees/2m Wall Sit. At the moment I still have 2 crushed vertebrae in my spine, so I’m not allowed to do Burpees. So have replaced these with 60k Leg Press Machine. Believe me this is just as tough as the workout on the challenge, so I don’t feel bad about having to make the adjustment. Actually I’m quite dreading the pain on January 31.  Another monthly challenge I know. But I do like to mix it up a bit.

Then there is the challenge of 1000 skips per day for 28 days, starting today. Just as it says, do 1000 skips every day for 28 days. Sounds easy but for a skipping novice like me this will be a tough challenge. It’s an understatement to say that I am a hopeless skipper.

Of course I’m still going ahead with 2013  challenges that I’ve blogged about previously. There is the challenge to Walk 100k from  Melbourne to Sorrento

and the challenge to walk every walk from Melbourne’s Best Bush, Bay & City Walks written by Judy Mundy

I’m still doing my regular workouts so add these challenge workouts to the end. I can see as the days go by, that will make for a challenging program. But…JFDI.

I’d really love to hear about your challenges in 2013.

From → Fitness

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

