Skip to content

Immortalised in Stone

January 10, 2013

Due to my participation in post a day,  The Daily Post sends a prompt to my inbox each day, with a tip for a blogging topic.

Recently the topic of the day was Immortalised in Stone, posing the following question.

Your personal sculptor is carving a person, thing or event from the last year of your life. What’s the statue of and what makes it so significant?

Of course, I am hoping the last year of my life is in the far distant future. I would love my family to be sculpted but it would be such a difficult task for a sculptor to include everybody. So I’ve decided to go with a thing.

Of course that thing would be my bike.  For years my bike has represented my life. Other than my family, friends and my dogs, my bike has been the constant that has been there during the turmoil of the past few years.

Now that my life has calmed down, my bike is still there and hopefully will remain there alongside me until the end of my days. Perhaps my pedalling will slow down slightly, and probably the trusty roadie will have been retired and I would have taken up riding a much slower bike, but that would still  be ok.

All I would ask is that my health is such that I am able to ride my bike until the end.

I absolutely cannot imagine my life without it.

012

From → Cycling

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

