Skip to content

Bellarine Rail Trail Walk Wrap

January 21, 2013

Yesterday was the first walk of the year for our hiking group. Five of us met up at 6am in Drysdale to walk the  Bellarine Rail Trail to  Queenscliff .  This rail trail is a lovely walk, mostly flat and quite picturesque with it’s windy trails. The walk into Queenscliffe  along the Swan Bay foreshore was stunning.  I often think I should live near the water as it always seems to calm me and makes me feel that all is right with the world.

We had a coffee stop at a beautiful garden cafe in Queenscliffe.  We then set off for the return trip which was slightly uphill for much of the way. It was great to see so many cyclists, including families, out enjoying the trail. As much as I was loving this walk, as a regular cyclist I found myself thinking how much I would enjoy riding this trail also.

The walk was 34ks. I was really surprised to see my Heart Rate Monitor show total calories  was 3168. I am not sure why it was so high as the walk was mostly flat, with just a few inclines, but we did try to set a decent pace. We all seemed to pull up well at the end, even though we were feeling a bit weary.  It was great to catch up with the girls for the first time this year.

As we were walking, we discussed naming our group. More news to come on that.

014

Bellarine Rail Trailphoto calories

From → Hiking

4 Comments
  1. Pam Longe permalink

    I’d love to ride that! Long way to go for a ride though. Well done. So all we have to do to burn so many cals is just keep walking, just keep walking. Maybe a bit of talking helped burn some cals too 😉

    • Keep it in mind if you’re in the area Pam. The trail is longer than what we walked which would be better for a bike ride.

  2. gerda permalink

    Love to read your blog and wish I had a group like that in Newcastle! Any tips on how to start one?

    • We all met when doing Michelle Bridges online fitness program. We started to get to know each other on Facebook, and came together when participating in fun runs and other planned events. If you’re on Facebook, you could put a message out there that you’re looking to start up a group of likeminded people interested in health and fitness. Our group evolved from a small number to now about 13, so I would say find one or two people and they may bring people in etc until it naturally evolves. That was how it worked for us. I’d love to hear how you get on.

Leave a Reply

