Skip to content

My Fitness Program for Week 5 2013

January 28, 2013

Week 1 – 100k Walk Training program for final 12 week countdown – 11 weeks to go

Only 11 weeks to go until we do our 100k walk from Melbourne to Sorrento. I’ve started to panic a bit about the level of training I’ve been doing, which I suspect isn’t quite enough. So from this week I’m going to do the final 12 weeks of the suggested training program for  Coastrek 50-100km team trek on Sydney’s stunning coastline. I will be doing Coastrek next year so this is also a kickstart for that event.

As a result of being a bit panic stricken I’ve decided that I need to ramp up the training a bit this week, and definitely not skip a training session at all. Each week I will post the weeks program, in the hope that it helps me with my focus. All walks are with weighted back pack. At the moment weight is 10k

Monday –        6am: Walk 15k, 11am: Ride 40k – DONE

Tuesday –       4.30am: Walk 8k, 6am: Spin class, 6pm: Bodypump DONE

Wednesday – 4.30am: Walk 15k, 5.45pm: Spin class DONE

Thursday –    4.30am: Walk 8k, 6am: Spin Class 6pm: Bodypump DONE

Friday –           6am Weights/Core/Stretch  DONE

Saturday –      7am: 35k Walk DONE

Sunday –         6pm: 20k Walk (NOT DONE. Skipped this session due to going out of town for birth of my grandson.)

Usually there would be a few outdoor cycling sessions, but I’ve had to put them on hold for the next few weeks until the 100k walk is over. Any spare moment I have just now needs to be spent walking and hardening up the feet. When time permits I will get the bike out just to keep the pedals turning, so muscles don’t forget. Cycling is my first passion but has to take second place at the moment.

I’m quite excited about this training program. I know the first couple of weeks will be tough, but it seems to me that it’s exactly what I need to be at peak fitness (for me) on April 13.

From → Fitness

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

