Skip to content

I Quit Sugar Weeks 3 & 4

March 6, 2013

Week 3 was a bit of a failure for me. No sugar got to me and I caved. For 2 days I hit the sugar, of course berating myself continuously for being so weak.  By the end of the week, I was back on track, even though my mind was still fragile.

The Mantra for Week 3 is “QUIT!”

For the past 2 weeks we have been cutting down on sugar. Now it’s time to cut it out completely. In Sarah’s words “GO COLD TURKEY”

The goal was to cut out all fruit, muesli bars, packaged cereals, jams, sauces, flavoured yoghurts, honey, palm and coconut sugar, chocolate, etc etc etc. You get the picture. Everything that is nice to eat had to go. I hadn’t expected this week to be too difficult as I’d been cutting out most of these foods anyway. But struggle and cave in I did. Again and again.

Halfway through the week, I decided I hated I Quit Sugar and was giving up. But by the end of the week, I was in a better headspace and decided to give it another go. After all surely it wasn’t me to give up after just one slip up.

The Mantra for Week 4 is  FACE THE DEMONS

As week 4 begins, I certainly am facing those demons. Every fibre of my being wants to eat sugar, at every moment of every day. The first 2 days of week 4 are a write off, but I then manage to get myself back on track after giving myself  a stern lecture and reminder of why it is that I’m doing this. Also I feel really dreadful after all the sugar I’ve eaten.

So it’s back on track for the rest of the week.

This week Sarah requests that we walk away from the fruit juice. This isn’t a problem for me, as I stopped drinking juice years ago.  The other request this week is that we calculate the amount of sugar we are actually eating. Yikes! Gulp! No I do not think I will be doing that. It’s enough that I know the amount is much much much too much.

I am surprised to see this week that there are 4-8 teaspoons of cereal in a bowl of Kelloggs Just Right. I have given it up because it’s over 5% in 100g but to see the number of teaspoons is a big shock.

As the week ends I am quite happy with myself for getting back on track after a very up and down and stressful week. However I feel that no sugar could be impossible for me. I’m not sure that I’m strong enough for it. I seem to cave in very easily.

Perhaps I could be more suited to Less Sugar.

From → Food

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

