Skip to content

So now what’s next?

April 26, 2013

So the 100k Walk from Melbourne To Sorrento is now done. This has been a definite goal since the date was set in October last year. Since finishing the 100ks, I’ve been feeling a little flat,  and have put it down to the fact that we didn’t celebrate our achievement at all. Because the walk wasn’t an organised event, it was just the two of us, with  no support crew or crowds of onlookers to celebrate with.  But thinking it over, I now feel the lack of celebration isn’t the reason for that flat feeling.  I think it’s because I no longer have a goal on the distant horizon to strive towards.

I love goal setting, and do it pretty religiously every three months. Goalsetting keeps me focused and stops me skipping training sessions. Most of my goals have been working towards the 100k walk.  I realise now I hadn’t given any thought at all to the future, after the walk was complete. I really couldn’t get my head past that walk.

So now that it’s done – What’s next? I’m really not sure. All I know is that I need to set a big goal to be reached in 12 weeks. The quicker this goal is set, the quicker I will get back to feeling settled and focused.

I really have no idea what this goal will be. Perhaps it will be a cycling goal. I’ve spent the past two months off the bike, when the walking training needed to become serious. Now I’m loving pedalling again.

Time to get the thinking cap on.

From → Fitness

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

