Skip to content

Burke and Wills Trek

January 14, 2014

I love the idea of the Burke and Wills Trek that is being held for the first time in August of this year. It’s a trek of 330k over 12 days for participants in teams of four. The trek travels through south western Qld and South Australia to Birdsville, tracing the steps of the Burke and Wills Trek that ended in tragedy 154 years ago. The trek even starts on  the same date as Burke and Wills began their expedition.

There are also shorter trek options for those who don’t have time for the enter length of the trek, and is a fundraiser for the  Born 2 Run  foundation which is raising funds in the hope of finding a cure for type 1 Diabetes

This event ticks many boxes for me. Of course the challenge of a fitness and team  event is the main calling. But as a keen historian, particularly Australian History, for years I have read everything I can get my hands on about Burke and Wills and their expedition.

Due to my commitment to the Camino de Santiago this year, I am unable to be participate this year. However I will be watching closely and if it is on again next year, as they expect, I will be there with bells on.

So if you’re my friend, watch out. I will be looking for team members.

From → Challenge, Fitness

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

